University of Southern California
Mrs. T.H. Chan Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
Redesigning Lives Globally
Twitter Facebook Instagram LinkedIn YouTube
About Us

About Us

The Division at a Glance

  • Entry-level master’s degree program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education® — ACOTE, c/o Accreditation Department, American Occupational Therapy Association®, 4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 200, Bethesda MD 20814-3449,, (301) 652-6611 x2914
  • Ranked No. 3 in the nation by U.S. News & World Report
  • Founded in 1942
  • Initiated nation’s first Post-Professional Master’s program in 1947
  • Inaugurated world’s first PhD Program in Occupational Science in 1989
  • Offers BS, MA, OTD (clinical doctorate) and PhD degree programs and facilitates postdoctoral training
  • Contracts with more than 700 academic fieldwork education sites in more than 35 states and 5 countries
  • Provides specialization in pediatrics, rehabilitation medicine and Lifestyle Redesign®
  • Prepares students for traditional and non-traditional career paths
  • Utilizes a problem-based learning/clinical-based reasoning approach
  • Teaching assistantships and scholarships available
  • ACOTE Standards Public Data


  • Total number of full-time faculty: 78
  • Emeritus Professors: 2 (Elizabeth J. Yerxa and Ruth Zemke)
  • Internationally-recognized honorary faculty: J. Seward Johnson
  • Faculty Awards: 3 Eleanor Clarke Slagle lecturers (Elizabeth J. Yerxa, Ruth Zemke and Florence Clark)
  • Full-time faculty to student ratio: 4.4:1
  • Federal research grant funds received during the past three years: >$8,000,000


  • Total number of students enrolled: 309
  • Students from out-of-state: 25 percent of the student body
  • Students receiving financial aid (loans and scholarships): 68 percent of the student body
  • Has one of the most ethnically diverse OT student populations in the nation


  • Total number: 3,024 alumni in 48 states
  • AOTA Presidents: 4
  • Eleanor Clarke Slagle Awards: 15
  • OTAC Presidents: 4

University of Southern California